• Competition Open: Foreign Government Awards – Mexico / Lancement de Concours : Bourses des gouvernements étrangers – Mexique

    Version française suit…


Awards available for Canadians – Application Deadline: October 31, 2014

The Government of Canada is pleased to announce that 15 scholarships are available for Canadiens wishing to apply to the Foreign Government Awards – Mexico program.

The Government of Mexico through Mexico’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs (SRE) offers scholarships to Canadians for study or research at the Master’s, PhD and Postdoctoral level or for medical specialization and sub-specialization. Canadians must apply to one of the participating post-secondary institutions listed on Mexico’s website. This scholarship is tenable from September 2015.

For full program details, please visit Foreign Government Awards – Mexico.
All inquiries regarding this scholarship should be directed to the Embassy of Mexico in Ottawa.
Bourses offertes aux Canadiens – Échéance des demandes : 31 octobre 2014

Le Gouvernement du Canada est heureux d’annoncer que 15 bourses sont disponibles pour des Canadiens souhaitant déposer leur candidature dans le cadre du programme Bourses des gouvernements étrangers – Mexique.

Le Gouvernement du Mexique, par l’entremise du Ministère des affaires étrangères du Mexique offre des bourses d’études et de recherche au niveau de la maîtrise, du doctorat, et du post doctorat, y compris pour les spécialités et sous-spécialités médicales. Les Canadiens doivent soumettre leur candidature à un des établissements postsecondaires mentionnés sur la liste des établissements postsecondaires participants (anglais seulement). Ces bourses sont valides à partir de septembre 2015.

Pour en savoir plus sur le programme, veuillez consulter Bourses des gouvernements étrangers – Mexique.
Pour toute question concernant cette bourse, veuillez contacter l’ambassade du Mexique à Ottawa (anglais seulement).
Marie-Eve Bérubé
Program Manager, Web Resource
Chargée de programme, Ressource Web
Canadian Bureau for International Education (CBIE)
Bureau canadien de l’éducation internationale (BCEI)
220, Laurier ouest/West, # 1550 Ottawa, Ontario CANADA K1P 5Z9
t: 613-237-4820 ext./poste 332 f: 613-237-1073
– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –
CBIE Conference November 18-22 2014 Ottawa / Congrès du BCEI 18-22 novembre 2014 Ottawa
“The Diplomacy of Knowledge and Our Common Future / La diplomatie du savoir et notre avenir commun”


  • The Jeffrey and Sandra Lyons Canadian Film Scholarship

Application deadline: November 14, 2014

Scholarship Link

Announcing The Jeffrey and Sandra Lyons Canadian Film Scholarship

For nearly four decades, TIFF has been committed to transforming the way people see the world, through film. Central to this commitment is our pledge to provide our patrons educational resources and initiatives that promote moving image culture. Towards that goal, TIFF’s Film Reference Library (FRL) is dedicated to collecting, preserving and presenting Canadian film within a global context; and TIFF’s Higher Learning programme provides mentorship and advocacy for post-secondary students, faculty, and emerging practitioners by cultivating a forum to enhance the educational and professional opportunities available to these core groups. An extension of both these initiatives is the Jeffrey and Sandra Lyons Canadian Film Scholarship for the development of scholarly contributions related to Canadian film.

TIFF is currently accepting applications for the 2015 Scholarship. This opportunity provides graduate students access to the extensive resources in the TIFF FRL for one month during the period of January 2015 to August 2015. The successful applicant will be given a stipend of $1,000 CDN, a designated office space, and the opportunity to connect with other TIFF professionals and participate in Higher Learning programming held in TIFF’s year-round venue, TIFF Bell Lightbox. The Jeffrey and Sandra Lyons Canadian Film Scholarship is generously supported by the Jeffrey & Sandra Lyons Endowment Fund at TIFF.

“We have been involved with TIFF for many years—it’s an inspirational success story for our city. Canadian film has so much to offer, and the collections at the TIFF Film Reference Library are second-to-none. We wanted to help students delve deeper into these collections to further advance research and understanding of our country’s unique cinematic stories and voices.” – Jeffrey Lyons

The FRL is the ultimate resource for filmmakers, students, researchers, screenwriters and film and television professionals. A proud affiliate member of the International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF), the FRL maintains the world’s largest resource of English-language Canadian film and film-related materials as well as a wide range of local, national and international film resources, including over 22,000 book titles, 100 magazine titles, 12,000 film and television reference viewing copies, 60,000 film productions files which include presskits, photographs, clippings, and more. The FRL has extensive Special Collections with a focus on Canadian cinema. These rich archives are accessible to those who wish to contribute to the field of Canadian film scholarship.

To learn more about the scholarship or to download the Call for Applicants, please visit our Careers page.

Application deadline: November 14, 2014


  • IAAC – International Awards for Art Criticism

Application Deadline: October 15 2014 

IAAC International Awards for Art Criticism: call for new annual international Awards for Art Criticism, open to candidates of any age from anywhere in the world, writing in Chinese or English about any contemporary art exhibition held between 30 September 2013 and 30 September 2014.

China Minsheng Bank / Shanghai 21st Century Minsheng Art Museum / International Association of Art Critics / Royal College of Art, London announce the IAAC International Awards for Art Criticism, open to candidates around the world writing in Chinese or English.

The First Prize consists of a cash award of 50,000 RMB (6,000 Euros) and a fully funded two-week residency in Shanghai or London, in spring 2015. The two Second Prizes – one each, for an essay in Chinese and in English – will consist of a fully funded travel bursary for a two-week residency in Shanghai or London around the same time.

The Awards aim to support independent critical coverage of contemporary art, away from the immediate pressures of the market, media and private patronage. They seek to stimulate good writing, critical thinking, dialogue and research in China, the UK and wider afield. There is no age limit, and the Awards are open to all. The objectivity of the selection process is underpinned, both by the recognised professionalism of the Chinese and English-speaking jury members and by the strict anonymity of the judging process.

The Awards will be hosted by an International Board, adjudicated by an international jury and organised by the Shanghai 21st Century Minsheng Art Museum (opening in November 2014). The Awards will be held in partnership with the Royal College of Art, London, the world most influential postgraduate institution of art and design, and in association with the UK Section of the International Association of Art Critics (AICA). The principal sponsors are the Minsheng Banking Corporation Ltd.

(AICA). Deadline: October 15, 2014 Read more